Starbucks to expand to Cape Town and Durban in 2017


It has been announced that Starbucks South Africa will extend its presence to Cape Town in 2017, a little over 13 months since the first store opened on local soil in Rosebank, Joburg.

Currently, there are four Starbucks stores in South Africa, two in Joburg and two in Pretoria, with plans underway to branch out to Cape Town and Durban this year.

JSE-listed Taste Holdings confirmed today that eight-to-ten Starbucks stores are primed to open their doors as part of the new expansion, which may include concepts such as a corporate office service and drive-thru.

Responses to the first Starbucks stores upcountry haven’t been overwhelming, but positive signs have emerged of a growing and regular clientele base. However, holding company Taste, reported today a headline loss per share of 25 cents for the financial year at the end of February 2017 –  the company stated an operating loss of R110.7 million.


[Via BusinessTech]

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply